AESS 2018 Planning Team

Valerie Banschbach, Conference Chair

Dr. Valerie S. Banschbach is the AESS President-Elect (2018-2020) as well as a teacher and scholar of conservation ecology, animal behavior, social insects, and agriculture. Valerie has been a Professor and the Chair of the Environmental Studies Program at Roanoke College since July 2014. Prior to joining Roanoke College, she was a Professor of Biology, Director of the Environmental Studies Program, and Chair of the Biology Department, during her 17 years at Saint Michael’s College in Colchester, Vermont.

Racine Jacques, UCF Site Coordinator

Racine is an IRB Coordinator for the University of Central Florida. She is an experienced analyst with a demonstrated history of working in the higher education and research industries. Past positions include roles as Lead Analyst at the Lou Frey Institute of Politics and Government and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Sociology and Department of Political Science at the University of Central Florida. Racine is an avid runner and has been an AESS member since 2012.

Carolyn Anthon, AESS Managing Director

Carolyn is in her fifth year of conference planning for AESS. She is the Association’s main contact and manager. She fully embodies the cross-disciplinary approach of AESS, having a background in English literature as well as environmental science and policy. She is passionate about sustainability, good food, good reads, bucket-lists, family, and getting outside.

Peter Jacques, Site Host

Peter Jacques is a Professor of Political Science at the University of Central Florida and has been working in global environmental politics and sustainability for over a decade. He has published 5 books and many research articles on various related issues. He is a former Managing Executive Editor for the Journal of Environmental Studies and Sciences and current President of AESS (2018-2020).
more info

Monty Hempel, Film Coordinator

Dr. Lamont (Monty) Hempel is Hedco Professor of Environmental Studies and Director of the Center for Environmental Studies at the University of Redlands. In addition to his teaching and research, Monty is a documentary filmmaker, specializing in short and feature works about coral ecosystems, sustainability, wilderness preservation, and biodiversity. Monty served as the first interim president of AESS and has coordinated AESS conference film nights in the past.

AESS Program Committee

Valerie Banschbach (Chair), AESS President-Elect

Wil Burns, American University

Dan Clark, Rutgers University

Patricia DeMarco, Chatham University

Elly Engle, Pennsylvania State University

Sarah Lashley, Centre College

Abby Lindsay, American University

Teresa Lloro-Bidart, California State Polytechnic University

Jackie Maximillian, University of Arizona

Nirav Patel, Cornell University

Mercedes Quesada-Embid, Colorado Mountain College

Nancy Rich, Springfield Technical Community College

Walter (Tony) Rosenbaum, University of Florida

Valerie Rountree, University of Arizona

A.R. Siders, Harvard University

Abigail Abrash Walton, Antioch University

Bethany Woodworth, University of New England

AESS Board

The AESS board is composed of elected officers. Serving during the 2018-20198 term include:

Peter Jacques – President

Valerie Banschbach – President-Elect

Mike Finewood – Secretary

Richard Groover – Treasurer

Elizabeth Beattie – Student Board Member

Laureen Elgert – Board Member

Leslie Gray – Board Member

Teresa Lloro-Bidart – Board Member

Erin Pischke – Board Member

Karin Warren – Board Member

Walter Rosenbaum – JESS Editor-in-Chief*

*not an elected Board position